Brasília na copa
Site do GDF para a Copa do Mundo FIFA 2014™
Estadio Nacional Mané Garrincha

Estádio Nacional de Brasília
Mané Garrincha

2014 FIFA World Cup


For the second time, Brazil will host the most important football event worldwide. The first time was in 1950. In this 20th edition, 32 teams will compete in 12 host cities.

A capital do país terá o número máximo de partidas da Copa do Mundo 2014 (sete no total), incluindo o terceiro jogo da Seleção Brasileira na fase de grupos, no dia 23 de junho. Belo Horizonte, Salvador, Fortaleza, Recife, Natal, Curitiba, Porto Alegre, Cuiabá, Manaus, São Paulo e Rio de Janeiro também sediarão as partidas do torneio.

The nation's capital will have the maximum number of matches during the 2014 FIFA World Cup (seven in total), including the third game of the Brazilian team, in June 23th. Belo Horizonte, Salvador, Fortaleza, Recife, Natal, Curitiba, Porto Alegre, Cuiabá, Manaus, São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro will also host matches of the tournament.

In Brasília – that holds the Confederations Cup as test event – the World Cup is also considered as an opportunity to empower the public policies in essential sectors of the city. The Federal Government will invest around R$ 3 billion in urban mobility works, infrastructure and safety in the Federal District, which will result in better life quality for the population not only in the Plano Piloto but also in the entire Federal District.
Besides all these investments, Brasília will also have a project measuring up to the World Cup’s magnitude. The Brasília National Mané Garrincha Stadium will be a true monument and will later serve the population during sport mega-events and as a stage for great entertainment attractions, concerts, performances and festivals.

Located in the city’s central area, the Stadium is part of one of the major sport compounds in the country, with an area of 1.6 million square meters and capacity for 71 thousand people. The project – also called Ecoarena for its adaptability in hosting different kinds of events and for being bio-sustainable – will receive, after its conclusion, the Platinum seal. Internationally renowned, the certificate guarantees that the work has been planned with maximum criteria concerning the economic development and with the use of materials that do not harm the environment, with natural resources in an intelligent manner. Nowadays, no other football stadium in the world has been awarded this seal.

World Cup – brief history

Since 1930, when it first took place in Uruguay, the tournament happens every four years. The break from tradition happened only during 1940, due to the Second World War. With Europe in reconstruction, the 5th World Cup in 1950 took place in Brazil, but the champion was Uruguay. Brazil won its first title in the World Cup eight years later, in 1958, in Sweden. Today, the country is proud to be a five-time winner, the most successful World Cup team.

So far, 19 World Cup editions have taken place. South Africa hosted the last one in 2010. Besides Brazil, that has won five times, seven other countries won the cup in the tournament: Italy (four-time winner), Germany (three-time winner), Argentina (two-time winner), Uruguay (two-time winner), England, France and Spain, who won for the first time four years ago in African soil.



banner momento da copa
banner fan fest
brasil voluntario
Athos Bulcão - Painel de Azulejos do Mercado das Flores, Brasília, 1989